top of page

About Us

Our History:


In May 1977, the Sidney Anglers Association (SAA) was formed with an initial membership of 30 anglers. The Association in quick order established its executive, its purpose, fishing boundaries, constitution, annual membership dues, a ladder board system and created a quarterly newsletter.


The stated purpose of the Association was “to foster interest in rod and reel fishing, to foster interest in Canada’s greatest game fish, the salmon, to promote recreational fishing in the Sidney area, and to participate in measures for the propagation and conservation of salmon and the protection of its environment”


The Association held its first derby in June 1977. The first place prize went to Elwood Thompson, the second place was awarded to Rick Sansbury and third place was captured by Tom Davis. Over the years, the number of internal derbies for members increased to six a year, with each derby being held on a Sunday. Today, as it has been for the past thirty-six plus years all derbies are held on a Sunday.    


The SAA in keeping with its proud tradition of participating in salmon conservation and salmon habitat restoration has held an annual fundraising salmon derby since 2011 with all net proceeds going to salmon enhancement projects ranging from stream restoration to live pen operations. Today’s association is a salmon fishing and conservation club with committed members ensuring the ongoing future of salmon.


We invite you to join the Sidney Anglers Association:


If you would like to be involved in salmon conservation and enhancement activities or would like to part of a great fishing club or both, become a member of our Association.  You can join the Sidney Anglers Association by attending one of our general meeting held at the Mary Winspear Centre in Sidney at 7:30 pm on the fourth Monday of every month from September through June with the exception of December or by clicking on the Annual Membership icon at the top right of this page.

2024 Executive








Member at Large:

Brian Dunic
Alex Hyndman
Cathy Campbell

Steve Heddle
Dave Bachop

Terry Russell

Norman Kent
Rick Maciak

bottom of page